Bounty Killer & Gabriel "My Boy Lollipop" remake getting rave reviews

by Cross Cris
(Jamaica)

Bounty Killer & Gabriel

Bounty Killer & Gabriel

Rodney "Bounty Killer" Price and Nancy "Gabriel" Gordon have teamed up to do a "remake" of one of Jamaica's biggest hit single,Small's 1964 smash hit "My Boy Lollipop".


The song, which was recorded on Tuesday, November 8, 2011, has been getting rave reviews from fans and music industry insiders alike all over the world.

Riddimstream.com that has been blasting the song all over the world since its release quotes, "This is probably dancehall's biggest remake yet. Over 50,000 people have already viewed the song worldwide ac-cumulatively on different social media networks, blogs etc.

Phone calls and emails are being sent from places such as Namibia, England and Europe showing interest in the song.

The producer of the track Leebert "Gibby" Morrison believes that the song will do very well and expresses the joy of Bounty Killer representing on the single as this was not a coincident, but a dream. He states, quote "Since the initial recording of the song by Gabriel, I deeply felt that Bounty Killer was the right artiste to represent, do remember this is a dancehall mix and as such I personally believe Bounty Killer is the best choice and sound we need to give the song its edge and appeal".

He also stated, "If one does not appreciate music and the variety of flavours that come with it then they will not appreciate an artist like Gabriel. She is not just an everyday sound. You do not hear artists like Gabriel everyday."

Nancy "Gabriel" Gordon sees
this opportunity as a dream come true for her as she explains, "Bounty Killer is an artiste that I personally look up to and respect,
I have been told by him and others that my sound is very different and unique.

I know that I will appeal to a more mature crowd readily, but my hope is that my unique style will be accepted and listened to by everyone".

Bounty Killer sees this as the perfect opportunity to relive and be apart of history as this song was done over 40 years ago and still finds favor with fans all over the world. He says, "This song was before the inception of reggae and dancehall.

(LISTEN BOUNTY KILLER AND GABRIEL VERSION BELOW)



I was not even born when the song was recorded, so this allows me to relive the past and also make the song relevant today to all fans worldwide. It is also an
opportunity to expose another young talent who I believe has a sound reminiscent of the 60's era.

This may not be readily accepted by today's dancehall, but it will surely be a classic that will do well worldwide, especially in the European market so I feel
pleased to be apart of this project".

The expectation of the song is huge. Millie Smalls's version had sold millions worldwide and created quite a stir and pretty much the same is expected with this version.

READ MORE ABOUT BOUNTY KILLER

RETURN HOME FROM BOUNTY KILLER AND GABRIEL MY BOY LOLLIPOP

Comments for Bounty Killer & Gabriel "My Boy Lollipop" remake getting rave reviews

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
cum now better
by: Anonymous

this is a much better song from her.lollipop was ok but we love dishttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmBq5nFKuT8

Dec 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
most controversial song
by: Anonymous




"MY BOY LOLLIPOP IS "THE MOST CONTROVERSIAL SINGLE EVER TO BE RELEASED IN JAMAICA. WHERE DID BOUNTY KILLER GO WRONG?
SHOULD A GANGSTER REALLY BE SINGING ABOUT LOLLIPOP???????????????

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BOUNTY N GABRIEL BIG HIT
by: Anonymous

I LOVE THE SONG I PLAY IT OVER N OVER AND I LOVE !!!!IT.I DON'T KNOW WHAT SOME PEOPLE GETTING AT. THE SONG IS JUST A HIT,SO U CAN'T EXPECT BETTER FROM SOME PEOPLE,I THINK IT'S ALL ABOUT THEIR MINE.....NEGATIVE,BAD, JEALOUS,CORRUPT,DUNCE R POOR EDUCATION.. DON'T KNOW MEANING OF WORDS SO THEY DON'T KNOW BETTER, LEAVE THE SINGERS ALONE AND GO THINK POSITIVE...N LOOK OUT FOR THE BIG HIT

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LOVE
by: Anonymous

I REALLY LIKE THE SONG. I PLAY IT OVER N OVER N IT SOUND GOOD.I DON'T KNOW WHAT PEOPLE R GETTING AT.I THINK IT'S ABOUT THEIR MINE...BAD,JEALOUS,NEGATIVE R POOR EDUCATION..DUNCE..CAN'T READ R KNOW MEANING OF WORD.THE SONG IS HIT SO U CAN'T EXPECT BETTER.

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
SONG IS CREATING WAVES
by: Anonymous

this was expected..the song was a major hit before.and the girl sounds just millie Small.

Nov 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
lollipop by killer and gabriel made headline in japan
by: Anonymous

this song was the headline for a local news paper in japan today

Nov 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
song soon hit the billboards
by: Anonymous

the song is now at 80000 hits..chek it if unu noh believe.mi si di new york time write a article bout it pan one a dem site.chek dat out too.di song ya out fi hit di billboard.di fact say shi sound how shi sound is good…a dat a go mek it sell millions.right ya now a gone da girl ya gone.memba mi tell unu

Nov 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BIG UP GABRIEL
by: Anonymous

If one does not appreciate music and the variety of flavours that come with it then they will not appreciate an artist like Gabriel. She is not just an everyday sound. You do not hear artists like Gabriel everyday

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Comments.

Dancehall artiste Shenseea

Shenseea Claims "Princess Of Dancehall" Critics Hits Back

Dancehall artiste Shenseea yesterday claimed her spot among the female dancehall royalty when she dubbed herself dancehall's 'princess' in a post to her Instagram page.
The post took on a life of its own, sparking debate about which female dancehall artiste was deserving of the title princess, since Spice is the queen.Read full article here

Rygin King said Alkaline Not On his Level

Dancehall artiste Rygin King might be losing a few fans after comments he made about Alkaline, not on his level.  During a live broadcast on his Instagram Montego Bay Based artiste, Rygin King was asked if Alkaline is bigger Read more here

Jay Blaxx

Upcoming dancehall artiste Jay Blaxx was shot and killed in the community of Granville, St James on August 28, 2018.

Reports reaching us are that Jay Blaxx who is from the said community was killed by Read more here

Help us to keep Dancehall & Reggae Music Genres alive. We are asking for a small contribution to Keep our site online. CLICK HERE TO MAKE A CONTRIBUTION.

To have your Music, Video, Album, Press Releases or posted or promoted on our site [Click here to contact us for more info]

Who Is The Most Underrated Reggae Entertainer You know?

Over the years there are a lot of good Dancehall and Reggae music entertainers who has been pushed unto the back burner for some reason not of their own.

CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO....

Articles On Dancehall Reggae World You Might Have Missed ......

PROMOTIONAL OPPORTUNITY

Producers, Artists, Publicist and Managers Get your  Product Out to Over 20,000 Music industry players.  Our players Include Radio Stations, Sound Systems and Deejays.  Click here to Contact Us For More detail.

Win a digital copy of "Welcome To Jamrock Digital CD" by answering the following question.

As a producer What's the name of the first album produced by Damian Jr Gong Marley on his Ghetto Youths International label?

CLICK HERE TO POST YOUR ANSWER


Send Your Music, Video and Press Releases to info@dancehallreggaeworld.com