Bounty Killer & Gabriel "My Boy Lollipop" remake getting rave reviews

by Cross Cris
(Jamaica)

Bounty Killer & Gabriel

Bounty Killer & Gabriel

Rodney "Bounty Killer" Price and Nancy "Gabriel" Gordon have teamed up to do a "remake" of one of Jamaica's biggest hit single,Small's 1964 smash hit "My Boy Lollipop".


The song, which was recorded on Tuesday, November 8, 2011, has been getting rave reviews from fans and music industry insiders alike all over the world.

Riddimstream.com that has been blasting the song all over the world since its release quotes, "This is probably dancehall's biggest remake yet. Over 50,000 people have already viewed the song worldwide ac-cumulatively on different social media networks, blogs etc.

Phone calls and emails are being sent from places such as Namibia, England and Europe showing interest in the song.

The producer of the track Leebert "Gibby" Morrison believes that the song will do very well and expresses the joy of Bounty Killer representing on the single as this was not a coincident, but a dream. He states, quote "Since the initial recording of the song by Gabriel, I deeply felt that Bounty Killer was the right artiste to represent, do remember this is a dancehall mix and as such I personally believe Bounty Killer is the best choice and sound we need to give the song its edge and appeal".

He also stated, "If one does not appreciate music and the variety of flavours that come with it then they will not appreciate an artist like Gabriel. She is not just an everyday sound. You do not hear artists like Gabriel everyday."

Nancy "Gabriel" Gordon sees this opportunity as a dream come true for her as she explains, "Bounty Killer is an artiste that I personally look up to and respect,
I have been told by him and others that my sound is very different and unique.

I know that I will appeal to a more mature crowd readily, but my hope is that my unique style will be accepted and listened to by everyone".

Bounty Killer sees this as the perfect opportunity to relive and be apart of history as this song was done over 40 years ago and still finds favor with fans all over the world. He says, "This song was before the inception of reggae and dancehall.

(LISTEN BOUNTY KILLER AND GABRIEL VERSION BELOW)



I was not even born when the song was recorded, so this allows me to relive the past and also make the song relevant today to all fans worldwide. It is also an
opportunity to expose another young talent who I believe has a sound reminiscent of the 60's era.

This may not be readily accepted by today's dancehall, but it will surely be a classic that will do well worldwide, especially in the European market so I feel
pleased to be apart of this project".

The expectation of the song is huge. Millie Smalls's version had sold millions worldwide and created quite a stir and pretty much the same is expected with this version.

READ MORE ABOUT BOUNTY KILLER

RETURN HOME FROM BOUNTY KILLER AND GABRIEL MY BOY LOLLIPOP

Comments for Bounty Killer & Gabriel "My Boy Lollipop" remake getting rave reviews

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
cum now better
by: Anonymous

this is a much better song from her.lollipop was ok but we love dishttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qmBq5nFKuT8

Dec 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
most controversial song
by: Anonymous




"MY BOY LOLLIPOP IS "THE MOST CONTROVERSIAL SINGLE EVER TO BE RELEASED IN JAMAICA. WHERE DID BOUNTY KILLER GO WRONG?
SHOULD A GANGSTER REALLY BE SINGING ABOUT LOLLIPOP???????????????

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BOUNTY N GABRIEL BIG HIT
by: Anonymous

I LOVE THE SONG I PLAY IT OVER N OVER AND I LOVE !!!!IT.I DON'T KNOW WHAT SOME PEOPLE GETTING AT. THE SONG IS JUST A HIT,SO U CAN'T EXPECT BETTER FROM SOME PEOPLE,I THINK IT'S ALL ABOUT THEIR MINE.....NEGATIVE,BAD, JEALOUS,CORRUPT,DUNCE R POOR EDUCATION.. DON'T KNOW MEANING OF WORDS SO THEY DON'T KNOW BETTER, LEAVE THE SINGERS ALONE AND GO THINK POSITIVE...N LOOK OUT FOR THE BIG HIT

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
LOVE
by: Anonymous

I REALLY LIKE THE SONG. I PLAY IT OVER N OVER N IT SOUND GOOD.I DON'T KNOW WHAT PEOPLE R GETTING AT.I THINK IT'S ABOUT THEIR MINE...BAD,JEALOUS,NEGATIVE R POOR EDUCATION..DUNCE..CAN'T READ R KNOW MEANING OF WORD.THE SONG IS HIT SO U CAN'T EXPECT BETTER.

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
SONG IS CREATING WAVES
by: Anonymous

this was expected..the song was a major hit before.and the girl sounds just millie Small.

Nov 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
lollipop by killer and gabriel made headline in japan
by: Anonymous

this song was the headline for a local news paper in japan today

Nov 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
song soon hit the billboards
by: Anonymous

the song is now at 80000 hits..chek it if unu noh believe.mi si di new york time write a article bout it pan one a dem site.chek dat out too.di song ya out fi hit di billboard.di fact say shi sound how shi sound is good…a dat a go mek it sell millions.right ya now a gone da girl ya gone.memba mi tell unu

Nov 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BIG UP GABRIEL
by: Anonymous

If one does not appreciate music and the variety of flavours that come with it then they will not appreciate an artist like Gabriel. She is not just an everyday sound. You do not hear artists like Gabriel everyday

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Comments.

Are you working on a small budget?. Would like to get your music out to the world?,Why not let us do your write-up, press releases and Reviews at a small cost. 

For a small cost we will do that for you and post them to our site. Why not contact us now? link us at info@dancehallreggaeworld.com with all your questions.

Here Here to see proof of a review that we have done.

Subscribe to our Eblast and get the latest Dancehall, Reggae News and Releases sent directly to you.

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner


Subscribe to My Dancehall and Reggae Blog (no e-mail necessary), right-click on the orange RSS button (see bottom buttons to the left) and then paste the URL into your RSS reader. Or click on the Google, My Yahoo! My MSN button or Bloglnes button.

To have your projects featured on dancehallreggaeworld.com, Please email us at [info@dancehallreggaeworld.com]

Get your music sent to over 20,000 Subscribers now!!! CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFORMATION

Articles You Might Have Missed ......

Custom Search
Custom Search

Promotions

Skieze - Uber X

Skieze Brand New Single 'Uber X'

Did You Miss These?

Recent Articles

  1. Luciano Never Give Up My Pride Lyrics

    Apr 28, 17 11:41 PM

    Trade winds keep on blowing My life keeps on going Jah love keeps on flowing Just yesterday I was hoping for tomorrow And I trust and pray it would bring

    Read More

  2. Macini Getting Heavy Rotation In Jamaica

    Apr 28, 17 11:20 PM

    Macini, UK’s Dancehall General, now getting heavy rotation in Jamaica

    Read More

  3. “Slimflex” Drops “Whine For Me” Music Video

    Apr 28, 17 11:06 PM

    Canada’s Afrobeat Singjay “Slimflex” Drops “Whine For Me” Music Video

    Read More

  4. Shenseea "Topic Of Discussion" aka "Anonymous"

    Apr 28, 17 10:45 PM

    Dancehall's newest sensation Shenseea fires back at her critics with Topic Of Discussion aka Anonymous. Shenseea Topic Of Discussion MP3 CLICK TO DOWNLOAD

    Read More

  5. Ishawna Equal Rights Lyrics & Audio

    Apr 28, 17 05:32 PM

    Ishawna Equal Rights Lyrics & Audio - Female dancehall artiste Ishawna is now the hottest top in dancehall since the released of her latest single 'Equal Rights'.

    Read More

  6. 6th Annual Island Reggae Festival Returns to San Jose July 8 - UB40

    Apr 28, 17 04:32 PM

    Rudebwoy Entertainment presents the 6th annual Island Reggae Festival held at the Santa Clara County Fairgrounds, 344 Tully Road in San Jose, California.

    Read More